0

Your cart



TOTAL excl.
TOTAL incl.
Pay
en fr
EM Normandie 23 / 07 / 2021

1920: Women join our ranks

When I founded ESC Le Havre in 1871 with my brother Jacques, we had a clear objective. It goes without saying that we wanted to train brilliant traders, who are responsible citizens and committed to overcoming life’s challenges. But for us, a key aspect of our plans was to include people from different backgrounds, women as well as men. I married Julie, a committed feminist and Chair of the National Council of French Women (Conseil National des Femmes Françaises), and her battles became mine. I campaigned alongside her for votes for women. In 1917, I helped to set up a women's rights group in Parliament. And of course, I also worked hard to make ESC Le Havre a place in which everyone could realise their potential.
Our work finally came to fruition in 1920, when three female candidates signed up to take the competitive entrance exam. Their numbers were small, but they were there, daring to be different. And they set the scene for a revolution in the world of higher education. Then came the Roaring Twenties. Women demanded equal access to education. The Second World War followed by the May 68 uprising in France accelerated the women’s liberation movement. Female student numbers increased at breakneck speed, leaping up by 110% between 1973 and 1978.

Step by step, the School welcomed more women and we were gradually moving towards full parity. I am proud to note that over the decades, our successive teams have continued the campaign for women’s rights, in a world where gender equality is still not always a reality. Some of our academics have taken on gender equality as a research topic, and we have appointed a Gender Equality Officer. In 2018, the School even launched a robust system to combat sexual and gender-based violence, which covers the entire EM Normandie community. The School’s Wellbeing and Inclusion department oversees the system, which focuses on raising awareness, protecting victims and punishing perpetrators. We have also adopted further equality measures include signing dedicated conventions and charters and partnering with regional initiatives.
Our student associations are also committed to equality. All association chairs sign our “10 EM student pledges against harassment and discrimination”. There are also a number of new projects in the pipeline with gender equality as their main priority. Our students and graduates association - EM Normandie Alumni - has launched initiatives to support the journey towards equality.

There have been a number of success stories, both in France and abroad, of female EM Normandie graduates taking on careers which were previous dominated by men. Women from EM Normandie have realised their dreams in a range of areas including setting up their own businesses, managing teams, and even becoming DJs or airline pilots!

2006: EM Normandie’s Master in Management is launched!

EM Normandie 11/01/2021

2005: The Métis Laboratory is born

EM Normandie 11/01/2021

2004: The ESC Normandie Group becomes the École de Management de Normandie (EM Normandie Business School)

EM Normandie 11/01/2021

1937: What does the entrance examination for ESC Le Havre look like?

EM Normandie 11/01/2021

Memories

1993

Graduation ceremony
EM Normandie

2000

Theater club on the Caen campus
EM Normandie

1997

Courses in amphitheater on the Le Havre campus
EM Normandie

1994

Integration days on Le Havre campus
EM Normandie

0

Votre panier



TOTAL HT
TOTAL TTC
fr en
EM Normandie 23 / 07 / 2021

1920 : les rangs se féminisent

Lorsque nous créons l’ESC Le Havre en 1871 avec mon frère Jacques, notre objectif est clair. Nous voulons former de brillants commerçants, des citoyens responsables, qui auraient envie d’apprendre, d’entreprendre tout au long de leur vie… Mais une dimension capitale à mes yeux est sous-jacente : nous voulons former des hommes, certes, mais aussi des femmes. Il faut dire qu’en épousant Julie, une féministe engagée, Présidente du Conseil National des Femmes Françaises, j’ai aussi épousé ses combats. J’ai milité, à ses côtés, pour l’extension du droit de vote aux femmes. J’ai participé à la constitution d’un groupe des droits de la femme au Parlement en 1917. Et j’ai bien sûr aussi œuvré pour que l’ESC Le Havre devienne le terrain de réalisation de tous les talents, en toute équité.
Dans cette dynamique d’ouverture, 1920 marque un premier tournant : trois étudiantes se présentent au concours d’entrée. Elles ne sont pas nombreuses me direz-vous, mais elles sont là ; elles osent ; elles lancent les prémices d’une véritable révolution dans le monde de l’enseignement supérieur. Puis viennent les Années folles. Les femmes affirment leur volonté d’accéder elles aussi à la connaissance. La Seconde Guerre mondiale puis Mai-68 accélèrent ce mouvement de libération des femmes. Les effectifs augmentent à une vitesse vertigineuse, avec un bond de 110% entre 1973 et 1978.

Pas-à-pas, elles continuent de gagner du terrain et notre École tend progressivement vers une parité parfaite de ses effectifs. Je suis fier de constater que, décennie après décennie, les équipes qui se succèdent poursuivent ce combat dans un monde où l’égalité Femmes-Hommes n’est malheureusement pas toujours une évidence. Certains enseignants-chercheurs en font leur thème de recherche. On nomme un référent égalité Femmes-Hommes. Dès 2018, l’École va même jusqu’à engager toute sa communauté à travers le déploiement d’un important dispositif de lutte contre les violences sexuelles et sexistes. Sensibilisation de tous, protection des victimes, sanction des agresseurs sont les fondements de la démarche, adossée au service Équilibre et Inclusion de l’École. Les actions se multiplient : signature de conventions et de chartes dédiées, partenariats avec des dispositifs régionaux…
Du côté de la vie associative, les présidents signent une charte baptisée «10 engagements EMiens contre le harcèlement et les discriminations », de nouveaux projets voient le jour, faisant de l’égalité Femmes-Hommes leur cheval de bataille. Alumni EM Normandie, l’association des étudiants et des diplômés, appuient également la démarche à travers de multiples initiatives.

Les étudiantes et diplômées de l’EM Normandie ont désormais la force d’oser épouser des carrières autrefois réservées aux hommes. Les success stories se multiplient en France et à l’international. Elles lancent leur entreprise, managent des équipes, épousent des carrières plus inattendues comme DJ, pilote de ligne… Elles se réalisent !

2006 : Vive le Programme Grande École EM Normandie !

EM Normandie 11/01/2021

2005 : Le Métis Lab prend vie

EM Normandie 11/01/2021

2004 : Le Groupe ESC Normandie devient l'École de Management de Normandie

EM Normandie 11/01/2021

1937 : À quoi ressemble le concours d’entrée à l’ESC Le Havre ?

EM Normandie 11/01/2021

Souvenirs

1993

Remise des diplômes
EM Normandie

2000

Club de théâtre sur le campus de Caen
EM Normandie

1997

Cours en amphithéâtre sur le campus du Havre
EM Normandie

1994

Journée d'intégration sur le campus du Havre
EM Normandie