0

Your cart



TOTAL excl.
TOTAL incl.
Pay
en fr
EM Normandie 02 / 02 / 2021

What subjects were taught 150 years ago?

Subjects taught at French business schools have clearly changed over the course of the past 150 years. Whereas today we teach skills such as marketing, finance, artificial intelligence and creativity, in 1871 the focus was quite different. We found the first prospectuses of the school, containing the exam program for the academic year 1880/1881, within our archives.
These were the subjects taught almost 140 years ago: commercial office, geography and history of business, goods and raw materials, armaments, legislation, political economy, calligraphy and foreign languages (English, German or Spanish, according to preference). This contemporary document states that:

“The École supérieure de commerce du Havre aims to train traders, managers, and employees to manager our internal trade and develop France's relations with foreign countries. It thus attracts young people who have completed their general education and seek the success guaranteed by in-depth academic study of the areas of accounting, finance and international business, before embarking on a career in business. The School is therefore unique.”
It also mentions that: “the armament course provides students with the main concepts of this sector of human activity, which is highly important for our seaports. General ideas on construction, armament, sailing and steam navigation, etc.”.

Today the subjects have changed a lot. For example, just a few days ago, EM Normandie introduced an MSc in artificial intelligence. The MSc Artificial Intelligence for Marketing Strategy enables students to become specialists in the field of Artificial Intelligence applied to marketing, and thus play a key role in a company’s decision-making process and performance. Students receive training in how to solve complex problems using AI tools, and develop a sound knowledge of mathematics and programming.

Over the years, specialist areas have evolved, and the School has adapted to these changes along the way. As Elian Pilvin recently explained: “Artificial Intelligence enables large volumes of information to be processed, which helps to provide tailored solutions and optimise business performance. Students must learn to master the latest technology in order to transform how we do business and create value. EM Normandie has shown that it is committed to supporting change and developing business practices.”

2006: EM Normandie’s Master in Management is launched!

EM Normandie 11/01/2021

2005: The Métis Laboratory is born

EM Normandie 11/01/2021

2004: The ESC Normandie Group becomes the École de Management de Normandie (EM Normandie Business School)

EM Normandie 11/01/2021

1937: What does the entrance examination for ESC Le Havre look like?

EM Normandie 11/01/2021

Souvenirs

1993

Graduation ceremony
EM Normandie

2000

Theater club on the Caen campus
EM Normandie

1997

Courses in amphitheater on the Le Havre campus
EM Normandie

1994

Integration days on the Le Havre campus
EM Normandie

0

Votre panier



TOTAL HT
TOTAL TTC
fr en
EM Normandie 02 / 02 / 2021

Quelles étaient les matières enseignées il y a 150 ans ?

En 150 ans, inutile de préciser que les enseignements ont évolué au sein des écoles de commerce. Si aujourd’hui nous enseignons des compétences telles que le marketing, la finance, l’intelligence artificielle ou encore la créativité, en 1871 les matières enseignées étaient quelque peu différentes.
Voici les matières enseignées il y a près de 140 ans : bureau commercial, géographie et histoire du commerce, marchandises et matières premières, armement, législation, économie politique, calligraphie et langues étrangères (anglais, allemand ou espagnol, au choix). On peut lire dans ce document d’époque que :

“Le but de l’École supérieure de commerce du Havre est de former des négociants, des administrateurs, et des employés capables non seulement, de bien diriger notre commerce intérieur, mais encore de développer les relations de la France avec les pays étrangers. Dans ce but, elle s’adresse à des jeunes gens dont l’instruction générale est déjà terminée et qui, avant d’entrer dans leur carrière commerciale, désirent s’assurer les conditions de succès que leur promet une étude intelligente et approfondie des questions de comptabilité, de finance et de commerce international. L’École est donc tout à fait spéciale”.
On peut lire également que : “le cours d’armement donne aux élèves les notions principales de cette branche de l’activité humaine, qui tient une grande place dans nos ports de mer. Idées générales sur la construction, l’armement, la navigation à voile et à vapeur, etc.”.

Aujourd’hui les matières ont largement évolué. Il y a quelques jours, l’EM Normandie a par exemple lancé un MSc sur l’intelligence artificielle. Le MSc Artificial Intelligence for Marketing Strategy permet d'acquérir une expertise dans le domaine de l'Intelligence Artificielle appliquée au marketing pour jouer un rôle majeur dans le processus de décision et la performance de l’entreprise. Les étudiants sont formés à la résolution de problèmes complexes à l'aide de techniques et d'outils d'IA en développant des connaissances solides en mathématiques et en programmation.

Au fur et à mesure que les années ont passé, les domaines d’expertise ont évolué et l’École a su s’adapter. Comme l’expliquait récemment Elian Pilvin, DG de l’EM Normandie : “l’Intelligence Artificielle permet de traiter le flot considérable d’informations qui sont au cœur de la personnalisation et d’optimiser ainsi la performance de l’entreprise. Les étudiants doivent apprendre à maîtriser les avancées technologiques pour transformer la façon de faire du business et créer de la valeur. L’EM Normandie marque son ambition forte d’accompagner le changement et l’évolution des pratiques en entreprise”.

2006 : Vive le Programme Grande École EM Normandie !

EM Normandie 11/01/2021

2005 : Le Métis Lab prend vie

EM Normandie 11/01/2021

2004 : Le Groupe ESC Normandie devient l'École de Management de Normandie

EM Normandie 11/01/2021

1937 : À quoi ressemble le concours d’entrée à l’ESC Le Havre ?

EM Normandie 11/01/2021

Souvenirs

1993

Remise des diplômes
EM Normandie

2000

Club de théâtre sur le campus de Caen
EM Normandie

1997

Cours en amphithéâtre sur le campus du Havre
EM Normandie

1994

Journée d'intégration sur le campus du Havre
EM Normandie